Hello me. It’s me again. You can subdue, but never tame me.

To be successful you must accept all challenges that come your way. You can’t just accept the ones you like. – Unknown

Bless me runners, for I have sinned. My last blog entry was two and a half months ago.  Has it really been that long?  Damn you, Mick Jagger, you liar! Time is NOT on my side!

Yes, I’ve been absent.  Worse than absent, I have not been training as I should have been.  To quote Michael Keaton in Batman, my life is really… complex.  Without going into details, I have some rather crappy health issues, some life issues and a lot of time that I just can’t get back.   All this amounts to a derailed plan and a need to accept that and move forward anyway, challenges be damned.

One thing that I learned the last time I dared to attempt to run is that if you step in a giant steaming pile or three, you can fuss and get upset because it’s on your favorite running shoes or you can just keep on running because it’s going to wear off eventually anyway.  I tend to choose the latter in case you were wondering about that.

So where does that leave me and Go Geek Go besides just as far away from being ready for a marathon as we were in October? Well, it leaves us at training for a half marathon and accepting that we may very well be walking some of it rather than running it.   There’s no shame in that.  It’s not ideal but it’s neither giving up nor giving in – it’s moving ahead.

I love my Vibrams.  They tend to make the calves ache quite a bit more in the beginning.  Wowsers.  That’s an understatement! But I love the foot strike and the motion changes as well as the feeling of my feet closer to the pavement.  They still draw some stares and people aren’t too sure what to think if they haven’t seen them before.  But hey, staring at my feet is a lot less rude than staring at my um…oh nevermind.

I’ve cut most of the junk out of my diet that still existed in it.  No more white sugar, white flour and white rice. Gone. Seriously.  And I’m working towards this 13.1 mile half way point in my journey.  So if you are still hanging around, checking in on me, well, thanks for believing in me.  Get ready for the rest of the story.

1 Comment

Filed under The Journey

One response to “Hello me. It’s me again. You can subdue, but never tame me.

  1. still hanging in…still following. missing you immensely.

Leave a Reply

