Keep Your Hands Inside the Ride

Destiny is no matter of chance. It is a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved. — William Jennings Bryan

Flashback: The Corral

I remember drowning in a seemingly endless sea of humanity on a slightly chilly April morning.  Some were giddy, chatting as if they had been alone on a deserted island for 25 years, 187 days,6 hours, 3 minutes and 44 seconds.  Others were plugged into their iPods, oblivious to the busy buzzy babblers.

I was wondering if there were taxi stands along the route.

Thursday, September 17, 2009 01:05 AM
Dear Run Geek Run,

Congratulations! You are now registered….

Wait…what? How the hell did that happen?

No matter how much I’d like to say that what you read above was an attempt at humor, I cannot. It was after many hours of prayer (that I’d regain my reason), meditation (an attempt to exorcise my brain of What if?) and tears (because I was convinced I’d lost my one-fingered grip on sanity) that I calmly and methodically clicked the Submit button to register for the next big race.

Submit. How ironic.

It may seem odd to those who don’t know me that I started writing about this yesterday and only a few hours later I was registered for a major race.   It’s not odd.  It’s how I roll.  If I don’t put myself out there, if I don’t hold myself accountable in a very tangible way, I will convince myself that I was “having a moment” and “this too shall pass”.  Even with What if? nagging me I would have found a way to ignore the beastie for at least a while longer.

No such luck, Buttercup.  Suck it up and move along.  There’s nothing to see here but future blisters and the hint of the possibility of shin splints and tendinitis! W00T!

To add to my accountability factor I enlisted the support services of someone whose journey has inspired and awed me.  Known affectionately as the Iron Pol, Tom knows about pain, suffering, failure and success and he knows about the first journey.  Our paths converged again earlier this year after being out of contact for several years.  I am now convinced that this was a sign, a divine intervention, a giant clue-stick to the side of the head.

My last two accountability factor raising actions were to create this blog (so I have somewhere to bitch, piss and moan about how much running sucks) and to put the link into the Twitter stream.  Check, double-check.  My fate is sealed.  I am now fully accountable.

Next stop – engagement.

3 Comments

Filed under The Journey

3 responses to “Keep Your Hands Inside the Ride

  1. tropicalscreamer

    Sigh.

    I had to smile.

    I’ve promised myself that I’m going to start bike riding seriously and with intent starting Monday.

    Hey, we can compare running pains and bike pains. We ought to have the whole range of injuries covered. LOL.

    Best regards and happiness to both of us in our journeys.

    Darilyn

  2. tropicalscreamer

    Did you get started?

    I went out yesterday and planned and immediately had equipment trouble. Not anything I could fix either.

    Got my bike back from the shop this afternoon, so I’m going to try again tomorrow. It’ll be challenging since I have blisters from pushing my bike home three miles yesterday.

    Onward and upward.

    How are you doing?

    Darilyn
    http://www.tropicalscreamer.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

